Relaxing Pool Time with Toddlers ;)

Getting ready for some pool time with a toddler vs. when you had the chance to go to the pool w/o a kid. Who am I kidding? I pretty much never went to the pool unless I was on vacation before Owen. Now, since I’m not working and I’m at home with Owen, we have gotten a lot of use out of his inflatable pool. Here is how it goes getting ready with him…

I mention the word “pool”, and he proceeds to say the word “pool” a million times. He gets super excited, but then continues to play with a random toy for 10 minutes. I mention pool again, and he is now ready to get changed. I get him to step into the dreaded swimmer diaper and get his swimsuit on. Now comes the fun part – the sunblock. He now knows what it looks like and yells, “no block, no block”! Sorry kid, you need sunblock. Screaming ensues and sunblock gets smeared on pretty much everything before he runs away and hides. I try again until I think that I’ve got enough on. We are now ready to go outside. This is the point where I imagine a nice day at the beach with a drink in hand. Ha! This would probably be the point where kid-less me is packing a cooler and scoping out a lawn chair.

Back to Owen. He refuses to wear a hat as we head outside. Time to blow up the pool. Honestly I think this is my least favorite part. It always takes more time than I think it should. Owen hates the noise, but he won’t move away from it. Once the pool is inflated it’s time to fill it with water, but I’m still trying to find the right spot for the pool. Our yard is huge, but pretty much all of it is on a slope other than the driveway. Luckily the kids don’t seem to mind the slanted pool. Hose on and in the pool. Now Owen is shouting, “I do it!”. So I let him hold the hose for a little and then I somehow convince him to put it in the pool and let it fill up while we grab some toys.

IMG_20160803_104745850.jpg

Ahhh, I flash back to my kid-less self in Vegas reading a magazine in peace and enjoying the sunshine.

IMG_20160308_173503

Back to reality, the toys are now in the pool and Owen wants in. Owen is in the pool splashing around and the cousins and/or friends arrive to play. Success! Until they all want to play with the same car. Ugh. At least I got a picture out of it.

IMG_20160803_175145847_HDR

As much as I complain about it, I’m actually enjoying staying home with Owen this summer. We’ve done so much together so far and I look forward to more fun with friends and cousins.

Leave a Reply

