Getting Settled

It’s funny how I grew up about 15 minutes away from where we live now, but it seems so foreign to me. I’m always using the GPS on my phone to find different playgrounds and restaurants in the area. Maybe its because we lived in Ohio for so long, or now we have Owen and never really paid any attention to where the fun kid spots are. Either way I’m starting to learn the area and realize that passing a few farms on the way isn’t out of the ordinary.

After being in our house for a month we’ve made a few improvements. Rather, the guys in my family have made some improvements. Before we even moved in, with the help of my dad and Tony, the deck was power washed, sanded, and stained. We’ve already used it a lot for entertaining and we really love our new deck!

The first big change inside the house was the addition of a garbage disposal (thanks to my brother, Timothy). I’m so happy that we have one now. With a toddler you throw away so much food, and our garbage was very stinky for the first few weeks we were here. Also, Tony and my dad added a much needed door to Tony’s office. Now Tony can shut the door while he’s working, and Owen has been pretty good at staying away from it. Thanks to my father-in-law we are able to have use the extra dryer that was left by the previous owners. I’m sure this will be great once I get back to work and have to do all the laundry on the weekends.

We’ve also purchased (and built) a few pieces of furniture, a pantry, and a TV stand. We have a ton of furniture to sell that was left in the house. Once we sell it I think we’ll get a few more replacement pieces. The biggest change we are making is to the breakfast nook. It was all wood paneling except one wall, and they had a brown cabinet attached to the one wall for their microwave. It made the room feel like a cozy cottage, which is not our style.

IMG_20160423_101954408_TOP

The past few weeks Tony has been priming and painting it to make the breakfast nook match my Pinterest vision. There is still a lot to do, but I’m sure in the end it will look great. Thank you everyone for your help so far!

I hope that everyone had a Happy 4th of July. We celebrated on the 4th and 5th because of a rain delay. Owen really enjoyed the fireworks.

WP_20160705_21_56_42_Pro

IMG_20160704_185218469

Leave a Reply

