In the Circle

What a difference a week can make. Last week being in Vegas, and this week back at the office and dealing with a sick Owen. Parenthood is really hard no matter if you are a stay-at-home parent or need to work. This past week, like others, I felt that it would be easier if I didn’t need to go to work. Not just if Owen gets sick and can’t go to daycare, but also because not going to daycare is pretty much throwing money away. We still need to pay for every day whether Owen is there or not. I just wish there was a better way.

This past week was crazy here with Owen. He got sent home on Tuesday with a fever from daycare, and I figured he would have another ear infection but the doctor said that he just had a cold. This cold has been lingering on and he still doesn’t seem to be himself yet. The fever did go away, but his mood keeps going up and down and he still has a cough. The only good thing to come out of him being sick is that he is conserving his energy – so he’s been more patient and enunciating his words to let us know when he wants something. His new favorite phrase is “I did it”! It is adorable when he says it.

We are very lucky to have close friends that are parents and that we can be comfortable around. Last weekend we took a trip to Deep Creek, MD and stayed at a friend’s house for the weekend. There were 10 adults and 7 kids in the same house. I know that you are thinking this is crazy (and it is), but it is a lot of fun and the third time we’ve done it. It’s never a relaxing trip, but it is fun. Hearing all the dads signing along to the Frozen songs was one of my favorite parts of the trip this time. I really wish I had recorded it :). It was nice to not feel embarrassed by my screaming kid like I am in public. There he was just a member of the choir.

IMG_20160312_113907386

IMG_20160313_102701062

We’ve definitely started the fun of the terrible twos. Owen is still hitting when he gets frustrated, and we’ve started to do time out when he does this. I’m not sure if the discipline is helping yet, but I think if we stay consistent then he might start to learn. At least that is the hope. Age 3 is better, right? I’ve been told it’s even worse than age 2. Well, at least he still is cute.

IMG_20160313_112931995.jpg

Leave a Reply

