Owen These Days

All parents know that it is hard to get toddlers to eat vegetables, or at least swallow them. Owen does this weird thing with carrots. He loves to dip them (and of course he always wants to double dip so you have to watch him), but then he chews the carrot forever and never swallows them. Eventually he gets your attention and spits them out in your hand. I don’t understand this at all. At least he likes peas and will also eat broccoli if it is cooked really well done or mixed in with something else.

Owen is starting to add words as the days go on. Just yesterday we were stacking blocks and counting as I did it and when I got to third block he said “three”. Then quickly lost interest with the blocks :). He also loves to say, “What happened”, especially when Frozen pauses and “no mommy no” when I want to brush his hair or clean him off after eating. It seems he needs to work on saying “yes”. When does “yes” start to be a normal occurrence in toddler talk?

Owen, Owen, Owen why do you still hate baths? We had a good month or two when he enjoyed them, but it has been a long time since then. We make sure that the water is a good temperature, the bathroom heater is on, plenty of bath toys, and even music. I really have no idea what the problem is. Every parent I talk to has a hard time getting their kids out of the bath. We dread bath time. Screaming like we are torturing him. Tonight is bath night possibly I will bring out the bath crayons and hope that is the ticket.

So we dodged winter storm Jonas this weekend. I am not sure how we got so lucky, but I am beginning to think that Owen won’t be able to use his snow boots and winter overalls at all this winter. I think he would like playing in the snow better this year because he can move around and jump in it. In years past we’ve gotten snow storms in March so there is plenty of time left.

With the weather being cold this time of year I always seem to get more reading done. I just finished A Manual For Cleaning Women. I really enjoyed that it was a bunch of short stories that always kept my attention and didn’t take a long time to tell a great story. Perfect book to read a few chapters a night.

 

Leave a Reply

