Brrr

Today I am trying to focus on the good. It has been hard to look on the bright side with the weather being below freezing lately and me feeling under the weather. I think I filled up about half of my garbage at work with tissues. I felt like I needed to itch my eyes out, and the pressure around my nose was horrible. On the bright side I am not sneezing or blowing my nose nearly as much as yesterday.

Speaking of blowing noses, when do kids usually start to grasp that idea? Owen is getting better at it, but he doesn’t have it quite right. So this weekend I had to get the snot sucker out. It has been so long since I used it on him that I think he forgot what it was. Every time after that he remembered and ran away from me. I had to get some daddy backup the next time around. I don’t like doing it, but I’m worried that he’s going to get another ear infection if I don’t stay on top of the congestion. Am I the only parent that lives in fear that their kid will get sick again? It’s so hard when they can’t tell you what hurts. On the bright side he seems to be doing good, and after a day off for MLK Day yesterday he is back at daycare.

Owen and Tony spent the day together while I went to work on Monday. They slept in, and then headed to an indoor gym. Tony said that he felt like the odd guy out with all the stay-at-home moms :). I am told Owen had a good time and that he loved running around and singing with the other kids. As luck would have it there was a Cookie Cutters right next door. So they were able to get his haircut too. It was the first one that I missed and he didn’t cry at all. Such a little man :).

IMG_20160118_113253986

On Saturday we went to the theater with Owen to see Star Wars Episode 7, of which Owen managed to last the first hour, which was longer than we were expecting. Oh and he found a new favorite snack – popcorn.

If you are looking to warm up a bit, here are some soups that we made this past week. Stay warm! Italian Orzo Spinach Soup and Slow Cooker Tomato Kale and Quinoa Soup.

 

 

Leave a Reply

