Family Vacation

We are feeling so relaxed after our vacation to Myrtle Beach last week. Oh wait, no we actually aren’t feeling relaxed at all because we have a toddler :/. We might have to try and take a mini adult vacation at some point. I dream about taking a nanny on vacation, but I think I will keep on dreaming. At least we weren’t working and we had beautiful weather.

Owen had a good time on vacation. He really enjoyed the ocean! He wasn’t sure about the sand and waves at first, but once he felt them and got closer he plopped down in the sand and kept signing “more, more” for the waves. He had plenty of sand in his diaper, which didn’t seem to bother him until later in the week when he got a rash. One of my favorite nights on vacation was the first night at dinner. We went to a taco place called Nacho Hippo that was quite tasty and of course Owen was flirting with the waitress. So towards the end of the meal she gave him a small stuffed hippo. The hippo is kind of their mascot at the restaurant. It made him so happy to have that hippo. Needless to say the waitress got a good tip.

There were a few times when we were able to relax a bit. We had the family watch Owen while we went to out to dinner, twice, and enjoyed (the always crowded) the lazy river. So I don’t mean to be a downer I just wish vacation still meant relaxing.

IMG_20150724_153419

It was a very long car ride. Where many cheerios were eaten/ thrown about.

I have been to Myrtle Beach a ton of times, but this time I was able to check out a few new things. We were staying farther south than I ever had before, which was close to Murrells Intel. It is an adorable little town that has some good restaurants and some shopping. Tony and I had a date night and enjoyed some good seafood and a bottle of wine. Another night we checked out a distillery and winery. Does it make us bad parents if Owen was there? The distillery was called Palmetto Distillery. They make legal moonshine, which after sampling some of it I have to say that I am a fan. Then we went on to the winery. We did some wine tasting at Duplin Winery. If you are a fan of sweet wine this place is for you. Wow! It was so sweet! Pretty much the equivalent of sweet tea made into a wine. It was too sweet for Tony and me, but I did pick up some wine lip gloss. Yup that is a thing.

IMG_20150729_162449606

Owen lounging at the winery

IMG_20150727_115857881_TOP

Living the beach life 🙂

Not sure if next year we will go back to Myrtle Beach. It is a great place for families, but the drive is so long. I know we probably won’t stay in south Myrtle again. It was too crowded for me. We’ll see what the next few months brings. Who knows maybe we can do a long weekend away somewhere.

Leave a Reply

