Happy Valentine’s Day Week

I have a major sweet tooth, and I’ve been wanting to make sugar cookies for a while. Yesterday I was finally able to make some. I just used a simple sugar cookie recipe and my friend Mary made the icing for them. She informed me that the dough needs to be chilled for a few hours before cutting them out and baking them. Woops, I didn’t realize this until she came over to help.  Now I know for next time.

We used some simple hearts cookie cutters, and I also attempted to cut out the word “Love” using cookie cutters, but I only did one because they took way too much time while trying to entertain two kids. Mary made the icing then we decorated the cookies with assorted sprinkles. While decorating the cookies with the sprinkles Mary piped on a few designs and I simply spread the icing and put the sprinkles on them. I think I might have made more of a mess myself then the kids did. Sprinkles are a lot like glitter in that when using them you will probably find them for weeks to come. I can’t wait until next year when Owen can actually help out a bit.

If you are interested in making something a bit more savory check this Sweet Potato Crusted Spinach Quiche recipe below. We made it earlier last week and it turned out really good.
http://www.fourteenforty365.com/2014/04/weekend-meal-prep.html?m=1 

Here is the sugar cookie recipe if you are interested in making your own: http://www.sunshineandhurricanes.com/simple-sugar-cookies/

IMG_20150207_154108042_TOP

A kiss from Madison

IMG_20150207_154104755

Telling secrets

IMG_20150207_170834279_TOP

Note the sprinkles all over the table.

 

 

 

 

IMG_20150207_170858016

Some that Mary did

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Happy Valentine’s Day Week

Leave a Reply

