Christmas Fun

We were off to Pittsburgh for the first time in the new car, which is key because we had so many gifts and desserts to bring with us that the back of the car was totally full. I really didn’t think we could fit more than we did on the way there, but I was wrong. Our family and friends were so generous that we came back with more than we came in with. Not to mention we had to fit a new crib, full-length mirror, and lamp that we bought from Ikea. We had originally planned to get the crib from Target, but I realized a few weeks ago that it wasn’t available anymore. So after reading some reviews online we decided to get the Sundvik crib in gray/brown from Ikea. It is a smaller crib, but I think it will fit well in the nursery. We also got a simple lamp for the changing table. Hopefully we will be able to order carpet and get the furniture in the room soon because we are starting to get a collection of goodies for the baby boy.

Usually when we are back in Pittsburgh every minute is planned out, but this trip was less structured. It was nice to be able to sleep in for a change during the holiday break, and even enjoy some of the city in our free time. We went to the Mattress Factory on Thursday, and enjoyed looking at the contemporary art on display. Later in the week we ate at the Industry Public House with family. If you are ever in Pittsburgh I recommend checking both out.

Tony dressed up as Santa again for Christmas this year, and almost all the kids were excited to see him. Halfway through the night at my parents house he showed up with the gifts that Santa “forgot” to leave that morning. All of the adults got a good laugh, and he was a really good sport about it. I think in a few years we may need someone else to dress up because by then our son will be able to recognize him. On Saturday we went to my in-laws open house and caught up with friends and family. Just like in years past we all sang the 12 days of Christmas. It is always a good time.

As much as I enjoyed being in town it is nice to finally be back home. At 23 weeks I really don’t have many complaints other than getting woken up by leg cramps the last few nights. They aren’t like the cramps that I have gotten before. They seem to be more intense and they go from my foot all the way up to my quad. When they happen I just try and relax as much as I can and stretch it out. I will have to make sure to get some bananas tomorrow when we go to the grocery store. Maybe I will ask the doctor what steps I can take to avoid getting these when I’m at my appointment tomorrow.

IMG_20131228_202918_833

Tony posing with my mom while wearing one of her old ugly Christmas sweaters

Leave a Reply

