The day my life changed

I just had this feeling that I might be pregnant. I was due for my period yesterday and I am always regular. So when we arrived home after a weekend in Pittsburgh I walked over to Kroger and bought a pregnancy test. Of course I bought the one that you always see commercials for, the First Response test. This brand promises a very accurate reading even 6 days before your missed period.

When I arrived back home I read the 3 step instructions with my husband a few times just to be sure I was going to do it correctly. Then with shaking hands I went into the bathroom and took the test. The test states that you have to wait 3 minutes to get the results, but after about 20 seconds both pink lines showed up. I was so excited and called my anxious husband into the bathroom. He was as excited as I was at the results. I was pregnant after only 2 months of trying. I definitely realize that I am one of the lucky ones.

I then went online to figure out how far along I was. I was almost exactly 4 weeks along. Now I have to play the waiting game for at least a few weeks. This is going to be really hard for us because this will be on our minds constantly, and we will want to shout it to every person we see. This is the one time that I am happy that we live 3 hours away from our families so we won’t happen to bump into to them and have to lie when they ask us what is new.

When I found out that I was pregnant I Googled so much stuff. From what I could and couldn’t eat to what is really going on right now in my body. I was having a few symptoms (some lower back pain and some cramps), but that was about it. I figured that because my mom and grandmother never had any morning sickness that maybe I would be lucky too – not so much. I woke up around 4am, ran to the bathroom, and broke hot into hot sweats. It was worse than any hangover I have ever had. We’ll see what tomorrow brings.

Leave a Reply

